ADVERTISEMENT

OFFENSE and COACHING

Huslin89

New or Lurking
Gold Member
Oct 21, 2013
This was posted on another site and gives a nice perspective.

barney94 said:
Ok. I am an offensive line coach and offensive coordinator at a 3a high school in Colorado. Im sure there are much higher level coaches on the board, but none of my guys are Power 5 prospects so I will chime in. A couple of points:

1. Offensive line coaches don't generally change run blocking schemes. Coach Fisher has power, counter, pin and pull, and inside zone schemes in. The o line coach implements those schemes and coaches the techniques necessary to execute them. (Footwork, hand placement, aiming point, combo and double teams, etc.). We ran the same schemes with Spiller and Williams before him under different o line coaches.

2. Oline coaches may have preferred pass pro schemes but Fisher has so much control, I bet he dictates that too. Plus at the Power 5 level they pretty much run all the protections anyway, and can change them at the line. Center usually makes these calls, but with Jimbo we know (or think we know) that the QB is responsible for this too. (More on that later)

Maybe Addazio is being too technical. Maybe he has changed some of the things I mentioned above and it's been a failure. But I doubt it.

I've been in Addazio's practices when he was at Co State. When we hired him I got on here and said it was a mistake because he basically coaches by fear and loathing. It's all F bombs all the time, and his son is even worse (and not as technically sound as Pops). I was ridiculed as being soft and told that our guys needed to toughen up.

Well, these guys are playing like dogs that have been beaten too much. Tentative and scared. Not aggressive. Nobody is having fun out there. This was a bad hire of epic proportion and I bet there's at least one parent on here who would agree if they could.